Birthday Cheese Pie

Because I love to cook, I try to spend at least 012part of my birthday baking my favorite birthday desert. Which is fortunate because my favorite desert is not a cake or any other type of easily-purchased pastry. In fact, I’ve never seen it in a bakery case or eaten it at a restaurant. It is sort of like a cheese cake, but lighter. It’s also sort of like a lemon pie, but creamier and less tart. It’s called a cheese pie and it is the most delicious concoction in the world. Until I learned to cook for myself, the only place I had ever tasted it was in the kitchen of my mother, who is one of the best home cooks I have ever met, not that I’m biased.  It’s extremely easy to make and the only person I’ve ever met who dislikes it is my sister Amy, who thinks it’s revolting. It was, of course, the desert I requested for every childhood birthday. In addition to eating cheese pie, I also enjoyed dancing my finger across its surface (when my mother’s back was turned, of course) because it reminded me of an edible ice skating rink. One of the chief joys of adulthood is that, after all the guests have been served, I have the desert all to myself!

Cheese pie

Crust:

3/4 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/3 stick of butter, melted

1/8 cup of sugar

Filling:

2 eggs

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 pound cream cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

2 table spoons lemon juice

1 tea spoon finely grated lemon rind

Topping:

1 cup sour cream

1 table spoon sugar

1/2 tea spoon vanilla

1/2 tea spoon finely-grated lemon rind

Make the crust:

Combine all ingredients, then press into the bottom of a 9 inch pie plate and put the plate in the freezer while you make the filling.

Make the filling:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Beat cream cheese. Beat in sugar gradually. Add beaten eggs, sour cream, lemon and juice and lemon rind. Beat until smooth, then pour into chilled crust. Bake 25 minutes at 350.

Make the topping:

Combine all topping ingredients. When the filling has finished cooking for 25 minutes at 350, remove the pie from oven and carefully smooth the topping over the surface. The goal, obviously, is to make it look as appealing as possible to Dorothy Hamill. Return pie to oven and cook 12 minutes. Remove pie from oven and cool for at least half an hour. Then, refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Cheese Pie

  1. Amy says:

    Revolting? That’s a little strong. It just wasn’t my preferred dessert. I’m not sure Mommy ever made any revolting food.

    • Lizzy says:

      I would agree with that, with the exception of beef stroganoff, which 9 out of 10 people agree is a revolting dish, objectively speaking. I mean, hers was probably excellent within those parameters, but there’s only so much lipstick you can put on one pig.

  2. hollycooking says:

    Okay, Amy. Maybe “revolting” is too strong of a word. But I do recall that you had a fairly strong negative reaction to the texture of cheese pie, creme brulee and other creamy desserts.

  3. Nancy Dimond says:

    I wish I had a piece of this cheese pie right now. Beverly brought one for Easter – it was as wonderful as Holly describes in this post. We had a slice or two leftover which Mr. Sugar King aka Drew enjoyed. Definitely time to make another….in honor of family recipes.

Leave a Reply

