Gwyneth Paltrow eats salad dressing

This salad dressing recipe comes from Gwyneth Paltrow’s annoyingly and pretentiously all-organic website Goop (via, of course, my favorite cooking blog  Smittenkitchen.com). The first surprise is that Gwyneth Paltrow eats. The second is that her dressing is actually very good: Good as in..hmm..maybe I’ll have a little salad with that. It reminds me of the delicious sesame-ginger infused dressing that comes with the house salad at many Japanese restaurants. In the 37 years or so I spent not cooking, I actually searched pretty consistently (if lackadaisically) for a similar product sold bottled at the grocery store. I never found it..until I stumbled across this recipe. My recipe is only very slightly adapted from the original sources. Also, both Paltrow and Smittenkitchen provide suggestions for creating an actual salad for the dressing whereas I drizzle it anything vegetable-like that happens to be lurking in the refrigerator. I also often double the recipe so that I have extra lying around on nights I am tempted to hit (the grocery store dressing) bottle.

Carrot ginger dressing

1 large carrot, peeled or if you are lazy like me, enough baby carrots (purchased already peeled) to equal a large carrot (10?)
1/2 shallot (Go easy here: The first few times I went with Smitten’s recommendation to use a whole shallot and it was way too oniony.)
2 tablespoons fresh ginger grated with the Microplane
2 tablespoons sweet white miso
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons toasted sesame seed oil
1/4 cup grapeseed oil
2 tablespoons water

Puree the above ingredients in a food processor or blender jar. If you don’t have a food processor, grate the carrot, ginger and shallot into the remaining ingredients then whisk vigorously until combined.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

